ashley nicole avenue

a journey to healthy balance

What is “regular” anyway? February 10, 2011

What’s up, buttercups? How’s your day been? Mine’s been bueno!

Making breakfast ahead of time ROCKS! This morning’s SIAB included my first sample of chocolate SunWarrior, and I am in loooooooove!!!!

SIAB of Looooooooove

 

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup keifer
  • 3/4 cup mixed berries (black, blue, and straw hehe)
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 tablespoon natural almond butter (only raw almonds ground in food processor)
  • 1 tablespoon light agave nectar

Directions

  1. Place the keifer, berries, banana, almond butter, and agave nectar in a blender.
  2. Blend until smooth and frothy.
  3. Top with cacao nibs and a few raw old-fashioned oats.

and a blueberry muffin. Not the baked kind, the RAW kind.

Yes, I couldn’t wait any longer. And, of course, this is my favorite Larabar to date, and it’s no where to be found ’round here. WOW! So yummy. Thanks again, Steph. I was hoping this wasn’t too much for breakfast! :/

Workout today: BodyPump, RPM, BodyFlow.

When my stomach started growling in BodyFlow, all I could think about was lunch. So much for concentrating on breathing hehe

However, some cooking got in the way when I got home and lunch was a little postponed.

For starters, black bean brownies for my sister and Mommy’s birthday dinner tonight. Then…

I Can’t Believe It’s Not Cookie Dough

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups chickpeas (1 can)
  • 1/4 cup natural almond butter
  • 1/8 cup honey
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup crushed 85% cacao chocolate

Directions

  • Drain, measure, wash, and peel your chickpeas. (Peeling them isn’t absolutely necessary but it makes for the creamiest hummus and really is worth the effort.) For the sake of time, I didn’t peel my chickpeas, and it wasn’t as creamy as Lindsay’s, but it’s still amazing!!!
  • In a food processor, add the first 4 ingredients and process until the hummus is smooth and emulsified.

I licked a few blades and spatulas and spoons that held me over until I could make lunch 😉 Hey, I had to test it! I’m so excited to finally have a cookie dough replacement. I’ve missed it since I’ve started eating healthier. In college, it was a staple for my girlfriends to go on late night cookie dough tub runs.

My (chopped) salad beast of the day on the baby plate (tabouli, celery, carrots, edamame, cucumber slices, tahini garlic dip on top). This plate is really helping me with portion control 😉 In addition to the beast, I rolled with brussel sprouts with Garlic Gold nuggets and an organic apple with apple pie spice. Plus some red chai for dessert because I was about to go study, and it has ginger and cloves in it, which it claims helps with concentration and memory, and I’ll take all the help I can with Biochemistry.

Tonight we had Mom/Amber’s birthday dinner at my grandma’s. She always makes us a birthday meal. Mom like Baked Goulash with Pineapple Cake, and Amber likes Ranger Casserole with Fudge Brownies. I took my black bean brownies and dessert hummus and blueberries over to her house as another dessert option. However, I just sucked it up and ate her main courses. Yes, it was white rice and pasta with real cheese. Sometimes making Mama happy is just worth it! Our spread…

We began with a salad. I brought carrots, cucumbers, celery, and balsamic vinegar to dress it with.

My main course plate: (plus I had another serving of steamed veggies)

My Dessert: a recreation of a Black Bean Blueberry Fantasy with my I Can’t Believe It’s Not Cookie Dough, blueberries, and sexy spice. I also had some coffee since Mama made it, and I am feeling the caffeine now :/ It’s amazing how it never used to affect me.

My Mom and sister did try a black bean brownie. Now I’m watching UNC vs. Duke. I’m nervous!

*********************************************************************************************************************

Reader’s Request: Digestion

Disclaimer: This could be TMI.

This is really vulnerable, but I have been asked lately about digestion, so I decided to share a little about my story. Since I started really cleaning up my eating, my regularity has gone a “irregular.” I was to the point where I had to go on Beano with every meal/snack because I “gassy” (sorry if this is TMI). My PA told me to try the refrigerated probiotics (I got mine at Whole Foods), which have helped so much; even the next day I felt better. My gas has gone away, except when I get hungry (do y’all experience this?), and regularity is getting better.

I also started drinking Yogi “Get Regular” tea. I really like the Yogi brand of tea (and the inspirational messages that are on the tabs). I’ve tried Bedtime, which has really helped me rest better at night, and Get Regular,which has aided in my digestion–both of which taste great. Other brands I’ve tried (i.e. Celestial) are not as tasty to me.

[Source]

I heard from a pediatrician that sometime babies aren’t regular because they use all of the nutrients they get in breast milk, so I’m not sure if I am using all the nutrients from my food and don’t have as much waste until my body builds it up and is ready to get rid of it.

I’ve also read that healthy fat helps, and I’ve definitely had more nut butter and EVOO lately on veggies (i.e. butternut squash and kale chips), so maybe that’s helped as well. I’m definitely NOT an RD, so discuss any digestion issues with someone who knows what they’re talking about. This is just my experience. What is “regular” anyway?

I’d like to hear your input.

Do you have any other reader’s requests?

 

5 Responses to “What is “regular” anyway?”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    Yay! So glad you loved the sun warrior! The vanilla came today and it is equally as fab 🙂

  2. i LOVE sun warrior and i love your cookie dough + brownie creation!!! maybe a post on how you view carbs, fats, calories?

  3. Erica Says:

    hey hey! How are you? The i can’t believe its not cookie dough looks awesome! I must try! And what a celebration. The food looks yummy- perfect for a birthday party. Sorry I’ve been MIA! I will finally have a post up tomorrow morning

  4. 1. SO great that you ate the “real” food – it can be scary but it’s nice to dive in head first instead of being the oddball out sometimes.
    2. I had issues with eating too much fiber…I couldn’t “go” and got stomach pains. And I thought I was just being healthy! I learned I have to add in a lot more fats to my diet in order for things to work…


Leave a Reply

