ashley nicole avenue

a journey to healthy balance

GASP! Oats Without Nut Butter February 11, 2011

I woke up after 4 hours of sleep (thanks to the caffeinated coffee I had at dinner) to snow flurries, so I knew warm oats were in store…

It’s Snowing Outside (Blueberry Pumpkin Breakfast) Parfait

Layer 1: 0% fat greek yogurt sprinkled with apple pie spice on top

Layer 2: Blueberries

Layer 3: Maple Pumpkin Oats

  • 1/4 cup old-fashioned oats, almond milk, water, organic pumpkin
  • 1/2 smashed banana (this really helped make it sweeter than last time)
  • splash of pure maple extract
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • sprinkles of sea salt and apple pie spice

Repeat until glass is overflowing full. It was delicious!

Plus some Yogi Get Regular Tea to keep my bones warm on this chilly morning 😉

After studying, I got called into work (I’m doing a quick temp job where I have to be on call for 5 weeks.), so I had to throw together lunch quick. For starters, I made a sandwich out of 2 toasted slices of Ezekiel cinnamon raisin bread that I with peanut flour sauce in the middle. I made the sauce without any real PB in it, and it was lacking, but I was trying to forgo the extra fat.

I hardly ever do sandwiches, but this was tasty!

I had about 2 tbsp of hummus left in a container, so I made a quick salad beast on the go ;). I poured a little balsamic on the hummus and topped the mixture with celery, edamame, sliced cucumber, carrots. It was quick, but don’t knock it! 😉

And even a girl on the run needs her dessert…some seedless white grapes and my last Ball of Energy sexified!

Snack time: an Apple Pie Larabar

I could believe how hungry I still was even without working out this morning, but I was hungry as usual. My workout today was a 30-ish minute Zumba practice sesh and then I taught a Zumba class.

 

I couldn’t wait to make dinner tonight! My thing-to-try today was savory oats. I’ve seen Angela make them before, then Clare, so I decided it was time to try oats without nut butter for a change. GASP!

“Cheezy Oats”

In my mix:

  • 1/3 cup old-fashioned oats 
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup soy milk
  • 1 tsp EVOO 
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • dashes of cracked pepper and garlic salt

Toppings:

  • brussel sprouts 
  • edamame
  • fresh salsa

To make: I put the oats, water, soy milk, olive oil, nutritional yeast, and spices into a pot and brought it to a boil and let it get frothy. Looks like this…

You may have to play with the heat (I started with medium-high and worked down to low) and stir frequently as the oats thickened up. It took about 10 minutes.

When it got to a desired consistency, I poured the oats over a bed of kale chips.

Then I topped the mix with brussel sprouts, fresh salsa, and steamed edamame.

YUMMY!!!! I LOVE savory oats, and I feel like I FINALLY got the cheesy taste I’ve been looking for from my nutritional yeast.

 What a great grain bowl!!!

And to drink replenish from Zumba, a Emerald Green Juice. What a pretty color! It made me want to put on my Dorothy shoes and click my heels, but I’m already home 😉

In the blender:

Ingredients

Directions

  1. Place the grapes, spinach, ice, and coconut water in a blender.
  2. Blend until smooth and frothy.

Lots of frothy things tonight. I am checking off those Real Simple smoothies 😉

And dessert, of course, was a black bean browine topped with I Can’t Believe It’s Not Cookie Dough, a sliced strawberry and blueberries. I can’t get enough of this combo! I mean, protein for dessert, are you kidding me?! I had a little almond milk too.

There’s lots of giveaways going around now, so I figured why not have one for Ashley Nicole Avenue. I am now working on details from OUR FIRST GIVEAWAY!!!! Get excited!!! I’ll share ASAP!

*****************************************************************************************************************

Reader’s Request: How I Feel About Carbs, Fat, and Calories

So, for those of your who have been around for a while, you know that sometimes I struggle with thinking about portions of food and wondering if I’m getting enough (I’m trying to get an appointment with an RD) based on the way I exercise and what I need to properly fuel my body. I really just learned how to eat at age 23. Yes, I know what carbs, fats, and proteins are, but the milligrams and percentages don’t mean a lot to me. I just need a meal plan that tells me what to choose from. Lately, I’ve been struggling with wondering if I’m eating too much, even if it’s “healthy.” Am I getting too much of a good thing. Do you know how to tell when you’re full? Or 75% full to stop eating? How do you fuel for your activity level?

Maintenance weight thoughts are a lot different from weight loss thoughts. I definitely bought on to the “Light and Fit” diet of low-fat and no carb way of eating when I first started losing weight. It’s amazing how the media has us fulled. It wasn’t until I started eating REAL food, full fat nut butters, and raw carbs that the plateau in my weight loss was overcome. I was a Public Relations major in college and took a lot of advertising classes, so I know how it works and what’s on the front of th package should be discarded. Flip the package over and really read the ingredients.

To wrap up, I am all for eating real food, having good fat and adequate carbs to fuel your body and help with digestion. Calories for me are a struggle as I get so caught up in numbers. It’s still a work in progress, but that’s my 2 cents for now.

 

2 Responses to “GASP! Oats Without Nut Butter”

  1. thanks for the readers request :D… and your breakfast parfait looks awesome!!! I def dont think you are eating too much-from my point of view!! you eat just like i do!


Leave a Reply

