ashley nicole avenue

a journey to healthy balance

If the Shoe Fits… February 22, 2011

Filed under: Dessert,My Life,SIAB,Zumba — ansauls @ 2:19 am

Hey y’all! What’s up, buttercups?! Sorry for being MIA. It’s been a NUTZO couple of days. Grab some coffee/tea/PB 😉 and settle in…here’s a recap.

1. I had some fun with fat hehe….the baby plate was carrots and cucumbers with hummus; a bed of celery topped with chicken kelaguen, fresh salsa, and fresh avocado, and 1/2 apple.

The apple was lonely without some fat, so a dollop of this goodness somehow appeared on top…

[Source]

2. I tried avocado in a smoothie. It was a new ingredient for me that I LOOOOOOVED! WOW! It gives amazing texture.

Avocado Smoothie

In the confetti bowl:

  • 1/2 avocado
  • a few slices of frozen nanner
  • Twisted Power Powder (maca, cacao, hemp)
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • toppings: blueberries, blackberries, cacao nibs

It. rocked. my. face!!!!

3. Then I had some fun with my newly-legal sistaaaa….it was a beautiful day, so we sat outside at On the Border. I had a Lime Skinny; she had a Swirls with strawberry. Her 1st margarita, which is my favorite, so I was a proud sister! She liked it!!

Lunch was a Citrus Chipotle Chicken Salad with no dressing. I did dip the lettuce in some salsa.

 Citrus Chipotle Chicken Salad[Source]

And I took her to my favorite fro yo place…Marmalade Skies!! I broke out of my vanilla-with-kiwi-and-raspberry-shell to have some vanilla, PEANUT BUTTER (YES!), and a little cappuccino yogurt topped with sprinkles and dark chocolate chips. I love the crunch of dark chocolate in yogurt. It was yummers!

A little later in the evening, I taught a ZUMBA PARTY at One Heart Yoga. Mira, the owner, and her husband Erik let me host a donation event for my Christian medical missions trip to South Africa. The Lord completely BLEW me away with the generosity of my participants! We packed the house out!!! Thank-you again to everyone that came out. We’re going to do another 90-minute donation class full of sweating and smiling in March ;).  Here’ s me teaching 😉

Saturday  night we had our community friends over for my sister’s 21st birthday (hey, we get a week of celebration around here!). Isn’t she precious?

My best friend Leslie was in town, so she came by to dance with me 😉 hehe What a treat!

Sunday was a quick trip to Charleston (what a beautiful day on Ashley Avenue hehe) to meet with the team for my trip. We’re trying to get a shoe drop in South Africa while we’re there. There will be TONS of barefooted children running around playing soccer that we want to give TOMS to. We’re going to take flip flops for them, but they need shoes so badly. If y’all have TOMS connections, please e-mail me.

Can you guess which ones are mine? hehe

*******************************************************************************************************************

By having to take this weekend off from blogging, I’ve realized how busy my life has become and that I can’t give 110% to Ashley Nicole Avenue. That being said, I started this blog to share new and fun ideas to get on a journey to healthy balance. I don’t feel like I’ve offered really fun recipes and can’t afford to do fun product reviews (y’all are so great to have so many cool gadgets and ingredients) and want to give it so much more. I guess I’m more of a semi-homemade kind of girl. I still LOVE reading all of your fun ideas and recipes. I am also the girl who tends to operate better with a full plate, but I want to give this blog so much more than I have time to. So, this is going to be my final post. This hasn’t been an easy decision to make. Y’all have been so wonderful for reading my crazy/silly life and for commenting. Thank-you for joining me on this journey. It means more than you know! We’ve been through high heels, tennis shoes, and TOMS ;), but this time the shoe that fits is taking at least a blog break. I love each of you for taking your time to read.

Love and health,

ashley nicole

 

6 Responses to “If the Shoe Fits…”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    😦 I hope it’s a temporary break because I enjoy your blog. I know, just from having one for a short time, that it does take time. But also know that a blog isn’t just for doing product reviews, getting free “stuff”, etc. etc. It’s about making connections, sharing your thoughts/ideas/feelings, and learning from others who also learn from you. When/if you decide to make a comeback, I’ll be your first reader 🙂

  2. cbrady3 Says:

    ASSHLLEEYYY! Such a big decision, but I totally respect it because you know what is best. I’m sure we’ll still chat though!

  3. ansauls Says:

    Thanks, Lindsay! That means so much! And, it may just be a break. I don’t feel like I can offer anything right now that is “worth it.” I get so much out of all of your blogs. Again, thanks for everything!

  4. Erica Says:

    Girl! You gotta do whats right for you! You have so much going on right now! Keep in touch though!!

  5. aw im so sorry im going to MISS YOUR BLOG!! i hope everything goes well though!


Leave a Reply

